EYFS children at Westwood Academy will learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

We concentrate on developing the prime areas, as the basis of learning. These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development;
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world;
  • and Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This curriculum designed to be flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.

Parents are expected to contribute to their children’s learning by supporting home learning and sharing information that will support ongoing assessment and planning for their children.

See the long term plans to find out more about what each year group will be studying in 2017-18

Nursery year plan